Roast Leg of Lamb

Let me start this post by saying that I am a beginner cook. Before I got married, I will admit that I did very little cooking because I lived at home with my family and my parents are both more than competent cooks. Basically, I was a bit spoiled. Since getting married (a mere four and a half months ago), I have developed quite an interest in cooking and trying different recipes I either find online, in magazines, or from the growing collection of cookbooks on my shelf. In fact, I may have a cookbook buying addiction. I am not really knowledgeable enough about cooking to make up recipes on my own. At most, I will create a “franken-dish” out of different recipes I mix together.

My husband and I visited a Costco on Saturday where we proceeded to spend more money and buy more things than we planned (as usual). While inspecting the meat section,  I noticed that they had boneless legs of lamb and we ended up purchasing one. I decided to attempt making it tonight (roughly following this Jamie Oliver recipe) and it turned out pretty well! I even made my own mint sauce as suggested in the recipe!

The final product!

The final product!

Lamb, roasted carrots and potatoes, and homemade mint sauce

Lamb, roasted carrots and potatoes, and homemade mint sauce

I tend to make extra food, even though I’m just cooking for the two of us, because we both love to have leftovers for lunch the next day. It’s much more economical that way and often tastier and healthier than what we might buy from a fast food place.

I informed my husband that we'll be eating lamb for a couple days.

I informed my husband that we’ll be eating lamb for a couple days.

2 comments

  1. leg of lamb is an ambitious endeavor. If you try it again, consider slathering it in rosemary and dijon mustard…..works every time. Congrats on being newlyweds.

    1. Thanks for the suggestion! I will try that next time. Sounds like it would be tasty!

Leave a Reply

