Banana-Walnut Chocolate Cookies

Since I’m spending a rare winter weekend in town (instead of the usual ski weekend), I decided to do a bit more cooking (and blogging). I also finally baked something, which I haven’t done since around Christmas. While at a grocery store yesterday morning, I picked up a box of PC Black Label Venezuela Origine Dark Chocolate Couvertureย that I saw sitting on a clearance shelf. It was close to the expiry date but I figured I would use it that day anyway. I usually feel pretty good about trying PC products as I’ve had mostly positive experiences with them. More recently, PC introduced a collection of black label products. These products are an assortment of premium items from various places around the world. I love dark chocolate so I figured I would give this particular product a try as it consists of 72% cocoa.

IMG_5981

After breakfast later that morning, I was ready to bake so I flipped through my copy of Martha Stewart’s Cookies, a book with recipes devoted to a wide variety of cookies. I came across one of my favourite recipes in the book – Banana-Walnut Chocolate Chunk cookies. The picture of the finished product itself is mouth-watering. I thought this would be the perfect recipe to make use of the Venezuela Origine Dark Chocolate.

IMG_6038

I used 1 1/2 cups of unbleached flour as that was what I had available at home. I poured the flour into a bowl, added 1 tsp of salt and 1/2 tsp of baking soda, then whisked it together. In the meantime, I preheated the oven to 375 degrees.

From left to right: Flour; Addition of salt and baking soda; Whisked together

From left to right: Flour; Addition of salt and baking soda; Whisked together

Next, I put the 1 cup of coconut sugar and 3/4 cup of unsalted butter into bowl of my mixer. I forgot to switch the whisk attachment to the paddle attachment (as is suggested in the recipe instructions) but I think it worked fine anyway. I mixed it until it was smooth looking.

I added and mixed in the egg and 1 1/2 tsp of vanilla next.

Mixing the coconut sugar and unsalted butter together

Mixing the coconut sugar and unsalted butter together

I then added and mixed in the banana. This was the last wet ingredient. I slowly added and mixed in the flour next.

From left to right: Addition of the banana; Addition of the flour; After mixing it all together

From left to right: Addition of the banana; Addition of the flour; After mixing it all together

I stirred in the oats and walnuts.

The walnuts

The walnuts

From left to right: Addition of oats; Stirring in the walnuts

From left to right: Addition of oats; Stirring in the walnuts

Finally, I stirred in the chocolate! Yum!

From left to right: Addition of chocolate; Stirring in the chocolate

From left to right: Addition of chocolate; Stirring in the chocolate

I dropped the dough on a parchment paper covered baking sheet. Each ball of dough was around 3/4 inch in diameter. Each batch was baked for approximately 13 minutes.

From left to right: Dropping dough onto the baking sheet; Into the oven it goes; Cooling the cookies on a cooling rack

From left to right: Dropping dough onto the baking sheet; Into the oven it goes; Cooling the cookies on a cooling rack

The result was tasty and not too sweet! Just the way I like it! ๐Ÿ™‚

The finished product!

The finished product!

Below is a list of the ingredients I used (with a few changes or substitutions to the original recipe):

  • 1 1/2 cups unbleached flour
  • 1 teaspoon coarse salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 cup coconut sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup mashed ripe banana (about 1 large)
  • 1 cup quick oats
  • 8 ounces Venezuela Origine Dark Chocolate Couverture
  • 1/2 cup coarsely chopped walnuts
Some of the ingredients

Some of the ingredients

Leave a Reply

