Tremont Cafe

I’ve been meaning to write more about the Tremont Cafe for awhile now. I mentioned it in a previous post about my experience in Collingwood, Ontario with my husband and parents. We had brunch at the Tremont Cafe that weekend and never looked back! After that, the Tremont Cafe became our go-to brunch place in Collingwood. We’ve been back a number of times since then and even tried out their lunch and dinner menus – both of which are also amazing.

I’ll begin by saying how much I like the decor in this restaurant. The restaurant is located inside of the Tremont House (originally a hotel) which was built back in 1889. Other than the Tremont Cafe, the Tremont House also includes an art school and eight artist’s studios. I love how the restaurant has large windows, allowing plenty of natural light to filter in. There are a number of other design features I like, including a lovely tin roof in the library room (where they sell books), the combination of white, stainless steel, and exposed brick, the open kitchen, the interesting light fixtures, and the industrial looking stools at the bar.  There’s a gallery on the Tremont Cafe’s website.

From left to right: bar and kitchen area; menu board

From left to right: bar and kitchen area; menu board

From left to right: tin roof; library room

From left to right: tin roof; library room

Our favourite Tremont Cafe brunch items are the French toast and the eggs benedict. My husband especially loves eggs benedict and this restaurant serves a stellar eggs benedict! Perfectly poached eggs resting atop a layer of cornmeal bacon and a bottom layer of potato roesti (aka rösti) then topped with a hollandaise sauce. I have such a weakness for potatoes! Roesti, fries (LOVE!), chips, latkes, baked potato! You name it!

Eggs Benedict at the Tremont Cafe

Eggs Benedict at the Tremont Cafe

We also both love French toast with its cinnamon-y sweetness drizzled with REAL maple syrup (none of that so-called “table syrup” or whatever else they call it) and topped with a light sprinkle of icing sugar. My husband and I have been known to bring our own maple syrup with us when there is self-serve continental breakfast at a hotel. The Tremont Cafe’s French toast is excellent and comes with a couple of sausages on the side!

French Toast at the Tremont Cafe

French Toast at the Tremont Cafe

We showed up another day for brunch to find that they only had a lunch menu that day as brunch is only served on Saturdays and Sundays. Lunch turned out to be quite tasty! My husband loves mac and cheese so he ordered the three cheese macaroni. I ordered the in house ground burger with cheddar and bacon. The mac and cheese was good but the burger was outstanding! Juicy and substantial! Soooo good! I would most definitely order it again and I believe it is one of the best burgers I’ve ever had. I am most certainly a burger fan!

From left to right: Three Cheese Macaroni; In House Ground Burger (Cheddar + Bacon)

From left to right: Three Cheese Macaroni; In House Ground Burger (Cheddar + Bacon)

We were also lucky enough to have dinner here one evening while in Collingwood.  The dinner was also delicious! I believe they may change up the menu from time to time as the dinner menu online looks different from the menu we were presented with during our visit there. My husband and I like to share appetizers. We started with their seasonal soup – the exact type of soup we had escapes me but I seem to recall it contained potato among other ingredients and we nice and creamy. We also tried their seared scallops with wasabi aioli, pickled ginger, sesame, and nori seaweed. Yum! Too bad there were only two on the plate!

From left to right: Seasonal Soup; Seared Sea Scallops + Wasabi Aioli + Pickled Ginger + Sesame + Nori Seaweed

From left to right: Seasonal Soup; Seared Sea Scallops + Wasabi Aioli + Pickled Ginger + Sesame + Nori Seaweed

My main course was the seafood risotto with lobster, mussels, shrimp, calamari, saffron, and truffle oil. I’m quite a fan of seafood when it is done right and it is fresh. I really enjoyed the risotto. It was creamy and so flavourful. It makes my mouth water to just to think about it! My husband ordered the West Grey County short rib with kaffir lime, scented jasmine rice, Asian greens, and kimchee. He thoroughly enjoyed it and I certainly savoured the bite I had of it.

From left to right: Seafood Risotto + Lobster + Mussels + Shrimp + Calamari + Saffron + Truffle Oil; West Grey County Short Rib + Kaffir Lime + Scented Jasmine Rice + Asian Greens + Kimchee

From left to right: Seafood Risotto + Lobster + Mussels + Shrimp + Calamari + Saffron + Truffle Oil; West Grey County Short Rib + Kaffir Lime + Scented Jasmine Rice + Asian Greens + Kimchee

Lastly, we felt we just had to taste one of their desserts (as full as we were). My husband has quite a sweet tooth and more often than not, likes to end a meal with something sweet! We decided to try their chocolate torte which was perfect for me since I love dark chocolate! Delish!

Chocolate torte

Chocolate torte

Although I admittedly haven’t tried that many restaurants in Collingwood yet, the Tremont Cafe is certainly a great place to start. I love the atmosphere of the restaurant and the food is wonderful. What more could I ask for?

2 comments

  1. Hubby is going to Blue mountain for conference and I thought I’ll be stuck with the food selection up there! Made reservations for both restaurants you suggested! Anything you can suggest during the day to kill time?

    1. Glad to hear you’ll be trying out those restaurants and hope you and your husband enjoy them! When will you be going to Blue Mountain? I really only go during the winter during ski season. At that time we do all the wintery things like downhill skiing, cross-country skiing, snowshoeing, and enjoying good food. I’m not that familiar with what activities are available now other than perhaps spending some relaxing time at a spa? I keep meaning to try Scandinave Spa but haven’t gotten around to it yet. Otherwise this site might be helpful: https://www.mycollingwood.ca/index.asp (As a food lover, I like the sound of the Apple Pie Trail. http://www.applepietrail.ca/)

Leave a Reply

