French Toast

Growing up I didn’t always eat a regular breakfast and I have to admit that, if there’s any meal I might miss on a given day, it’s probably breakfast. This is usually due to my usual weekday morning rush that involves packing a lunch made up of leftovers from the previous night’s dinner to my husband and myself. I also pretty much always put together a little yogurt and fruit parfait of sorts for each of us consisting of an assortment of whatever berries we happen to have on hand, bananas, yogurt, honey, ground flax seed, and nuts (only for my hubby since I teach at a nut-free school where nuts of any kind are a no-no). The fruit and yogurt combo usually ends up being a late morning breakfast for me that I wolf down during recess. My husband, on the other hand, is accustomed to having breakfast everyday. Since his workday isn’t as strictly scheduled as mine is, he usually has time for a breakfast consisting of three fried eggs and a bowl of cereal with fruit before he leaves the house.

He has actually been a good influence on me with respect to changing my breakfast habits. I do eat breakfast much more often than I used to, especially on weekends. We both love to have either French toast or pancakes on Saturday and Sunday mornings, often with a side of fruit, and sometimes with a side of crispy and not-so-healthy-but-oh-so-tasty bacon. My husband love breakfast foods. He would be perfectly happy to eat breakfast foods for any meal of the day. Aside from French toast and pancakes, he absolutely adores eggs benedict. Almost every time we are at a restaurant where this is on the menu, he orders it. One of our fave places for eggs benedict is the Tremont Cafe which I blogged about in a previous post.

So how do I prepare French toast? I wouldn’t say I’m an expert but I am always experimenting when it comes to French toast. So far, my favourite way to make it involves using an electric crepe maker as this ensures even heating of the griddle surface, and therefore even cooking of the French toast. One of my key tips is to avoid soaking the bread in the egg mixture for too long. I’ve found that if you allow the bread to soak up too much of your egg mixture the French toast doesn’t cook all the way through and ends up soggy in the middle.

Ingredients:

  • Loaf of French or Italian bread (white or multigrain)
  • 4 large eggs
  • About 3/4 cup milk, buttermilk, or cream
  • About 4 tsp cinnamon
  • About 1-2 tsp nutmeg
  • About 1 tbsp maple syrup (I only like real maple syrup!)
  • Butter
Ingredients

Ingredients

Instructions:

  1. Cut the bread into approximately 1/2 to 3/4 inch thick slices.
  2. Turn on the crepe maker to a heat setting of ‘3’ (or your stove to low to medium heat setting if you are making your French toast in a pan on a stovetop).
  3. Add about 2 tsp of butter on the surface of the crepe maker (or into the pan).
  4. In a bowl (which is wide enough to dip the bread in), add and beat the eggs.
  5. Add and stir in the 3/4 cup milk, buttermilk, or cream.
  6. Add and stir in the 1 tbsp of maple syrup.
  7. Add and stir in about 2 tsp cinnamon and about 1/2 to 1 tsp of nutmeg to start. Add more when you are halfway done with your batch of French toast to ensure there is an even amount of cinnamon and nutmeg throughout the batch.
  8. Dip the slices of bread into the egg mixture so that the slices are covered in the mixture but not complete saturated, as you want to avoid French toast that is soggy in the middle.
  9. Place the bread slices onto the crepe maker (or pan) and cook until both sides look golden brown. Make sure you flip when necessary.
  10. Keep finished French toast in warm oven to ensure it stays warm if you are making a large batch.

Collage 01

Collage 02

Collage 03

Collage 04

 

 

That’s it! Easy and tasty! Bon appetit! 🙂

Please feel free to tell me about your favourite French toast recipe. I’m always open to new ideas!

2 comments

  1. I love using organic sprouted raisin bread for my french toast! The cinnamon and raisins add a nice sweetness and texture to the finished product! 🙂

    1. Sounds like a tasty idea! Thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

