Oven-Fried Chicken Thighs/Fig and Goat Cheese Salad

I’ve been languishing at home for most the day today as I woke up feeling pretty wretched. I think I probably have the flu, given my feverish state. Anyway, I haven’t blogged in over a week now so I will post something short and tasty today as I continue to rest up.

A couple weeks ago, I bought some chicken thighs as they were on sale at the local grocery store. I did my usual online recipe search as well as flipping through a few of my cookbooks. After coming across this recipe for “oven-fried chicken thighs with buttermilk-mustard sauce,” I decided to try my own take on this. I also made a fig and goat cheese salad as a side dish. I thought the results were quite tasty even if it wasn’t the healthiest of meals!

Ingredients for Oven-Fried Chicken:

  • 1 tbsp grated parmesan (optional – I would personally leave this out next time as I felt it was a bit overpowering.)
  • Approx. 1 cup seasoned panko bread crumbs
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 8 tsp dijon mustard
  • 2 tbsp honey
  • 8 skinless bone-in chicken thighs
Ingredients

Ingredients

Instructions:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 425 degrees.
  2. Combine the buttermilk, salt, pepper, mustard, and honey in a shallow bowl.
  3. Combine breadcrumbs and parmesan in another shallow bowl.
  4. Dip chicken in the buttermilk mixture and let sit for a few minutes while preparing a baking sheet.
  5. Cover baking sheet with parchment paper.
  6. After dredging in the buttermilk mixture, roll the chicken in the panko breadcrumbs.
  7. Place chicken on baking sheet and bake for 15 minutes. Flip chicken.
  8. Bake for another 15 minutes (or until a meat thermometer reads 180 degrees).
  9. Enjoy!
From left to right: Skinless, boneless chicken thighs; Buttermilk mixture

From left to right: Skinless, boneless chicken thighs; Buttermilk mixture

From left to right: Panko bread crumb and parmesan cheese; Chicken in buttermilk mixture

From left to right: Panko bread crumb and parmesan cheese; Chicken in buttermilk mixture

From left to right: Baking sheet covered with parchment paper; Into the oven they go!

From left to right: Baking sheet covered with parchment paper; Into the oven they go!

Finished product!

Finished product

Ingredients for Fig and Goat Cheese Salad:

  • 4-6 figs
  • Approx. 2 tbsp goat cheese (or however much you like)
  • A couple handfuls of mixed spring greens
  • 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 2 tsp honey
  • 1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil

Instructions:

  1. Add mixed spring greens to a large bowl.
  2. Wash, half, and slice the figs. Add these to the spring greens
  3. Crumble goat cheese on top of salad.
  4. To make dressing whisk, balsamic vinegar, honey, and olive oil together.
  5. Add to salad and toss.
From left to right: Figs; Sliced figs

From left to right: Figs; Sliced figs

From left to right: Spring greens; Dressing

From left to right: Spring greens; Dressing

Finished product

Finished product

Dinner!

Dinner!

 

 

Leave a Reply

