Tomato, Basil and Bocconcini Salad

It’s been quite awhile since I’ve posted anything so I feel like it’s about time, even if it’s a short post for today.  Things have been extremely busy lately with going along on a grad trip with 150 eighth graders, working frantically on last-minute marking, report card writing, and a variety other end-of-the-school-year related things.  However, now that school’s out for the summer, I should have a lot more time on my hands!  Woo hoo!

I’ve decided to share how I make one of my favourites salads!  It’s also simple and quick to put together.  There’s just something so incredibly right about the combination of tomato, basil and bocconcini.  I just love the freshness and mildness of bocconcini!

Ingredients:

  • About 8 sweet cocktail tomatoes (or other tomatoes of your choice)
  • 200 g of mini bocconcini balls
  • Fresh basil
  • Balsamic vinegar (I used white balsamic vinegar since I happened to have that at home)
  • Extra virgin olive oil (EVOO)

IMG_3352

Instructions:

  1. Cut the tomatoes into quarters and place into a bowl.
  2. Chop about half a bunch of basil (amount to your preference) and add them to the bowl.
  3. Add the bocconcini balls.
  4. Mix tomatoes, chopped basil, and bocconcini together.
  5. Add about 3 tbsp of EVOO and about 1-1.5 tbsp of balsamic vinegar.
  6. Mix it all together and enjoy!
Sweet cocktail tomatoes

Quartered tomatoes

Quartered tomatoes with chopped basil
Quartered tomatoes, chopped basil, bocconcini

Yummy!  This is such a great salad for summer!  What else did my husband and I have for dinner that evening?  Check it out below!

Side dishes from left to right - Tomato, basil and bocconcini salad; roasted mini potatoes; roasted vegetables
From left to right - Guacamole with chips; Beef tenderloin steak

Have a wonderful summer everyone!  A special shout-out to all my fellow hard-working teachers out there to relax and enjoy the time off!

Leave a Reply

