Berry Banana Pancakes

Before I met my husband, I rarely ate pancakes. I remember occasionally going to the Golden Griddle for pancakes with my family as a kid but never had them at home and never made them myself…until now! Early in our relationship, my hubby introduced me to Aunt Jemima. He loves pancakes and, before we got married, was never without a big box of Aunt Jemima pancake mix in his cupboard (often the Costco-sized box). Pancakes were also our go-to breakfast at the cottage during the summer. We would add a banana to the mix and berries to the individual pancakes once they were in the pan.

Overall, I prefer French toast to pancakes, but it’s nice to switch it up once in awhile and have pancakes. I finally asked my husband one day, “How hard can it be to make pancakes from scratch?” I then proceeded to google some pancake recipes. The first couple I tried resulted in decent pancakes but they just weren’t as light and fluffy as Aunt Jemima’s. More recently I made a couple of batches using this seemingly popular recipe I found online (with some very slight changes based on the reviews written by others on that website and the addition of a banana and berries). We were quite impressed with how they turned out! Making pancakes from scratch is really not much harder than mixing up a batch of Aunt Jemima!

Ingredients (I was able to make about 6 large or 7-8 average-sized pancakes following this recipe.):

  • 1 1/2 cups unbleached flour (or all-purpose flour)
  • 3 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp white sugar (I would like to try this with coconut sugar next time.)
  • 1 1/4 cups milk (If you like your pancake batter a little runnier, you can add another 1/4 milk.)
  • 1 large egg
  • 3 tbsp melted butter
  • 1 mashed banana (optional)
  • berries (amount and type of berries can vary according to your personal preference – I like to use blueberries and raspberries.)
  • pure maple syrup (optional)

Instructions:

  1. In a large bowl, whisk together all the dry ingredients – flour, baking powder, salt, and sugar. Sifting the flour first will help to make fluffier pancakes.
  2. Add milk, egg, and melted butter then whisk together until smooth.
  3. Mash up a ripe banana then add it to the mixture. Whisk together.
  4. Heat griddle or frying pan over medium heat. Alternatively, if it is an option, use a crepe maker (We have one because my husband purchased it on impulse at some point before I met him.).
  5. Oil the griddle/pan/crepe maker with about a teaspooon of butter.
  6. Scoop batter onto griddle/pan/crepe maker, using about 1/4 cup of batter per pancake.
  7. Push some berries into each pancake.
  8. Flip the pancakes when you notice little air bubbles popping on the surface and ensure even browning on both sides.
  9. Serve, top with some pure maple syrup, and enjoy!
IMG_3676
IMG_3678
IMG_3679
IMG_3680
IMG_3681
IMG_3684
IMG_3685
IMG_3687
Leave a Reply

