How to Cut Up a Watermelon

I have a longer post (or posts!) coming up about my recent trip to Rome and Florence but thought I’d post a quickie for now since it’s been a little while since my last post.

Though the summer is sadly nearing its end, I wanted to share one of the most refreshing joys of summer! On those hot steamy summer days, there’s nothing quite like a fresh bowl of watermelon – the perfect combination of juiciness and sweetness. Taking a page from a dear friend’s amazing healthy food blog, I will mention briefly that watermelon is a healthy and low calorie snack as described in this National Geographic article. It contains vitamins A and C, a small amount of potassium, and is one of the best sources of lycopene, an antioxidant linked to the prevention of certain types of cancer.

I know that there are different ways to serve watermelon. Many people use a melon baller to create perfectly shaped little watermelon balls and many people simply cut a watermelon into wedges. I do not own a melon baller and it seems to me that it might take a very long time to ball an entire large watermelon. At the same time I like the ease of serving and consuming watermelon that has already been reduced to bite-sized pieces. My solution is to cut up and then cube watermelon – something I find relatively easy to do, if a little messy. Just make sure you use a large cutting board (which I unfortunately did not have access to when I took these photos)!

Step 1

Step 2

Step 3

Step 4

Step 5

Step 6

Step 7

2 comments

  1. Love watermelon (packed with lycopene goodness!) and love how you did the directions! 🙂 Thanks for the shout out girl!

    1. You’re welcome! It seemed like an appropriate post to take a page from your book (or blog)!

Leave a Reply

