An Apple a Day: The Honeycrisp

I ❤ apples!

IMG_3152

After my recent visit to Carl Laidlaw Orchards, I decided to do a little research into the different varieties (or cultivars) of apple I brought home with me, including the two types of apple I picked up while at Niagara-on-the-Lake. My next six posts will be short and sweet – consisting of information about six different types of apples. First on my list is the popular Honeycrisp apple. This was the single apple that was given to me as a bonus when I bought my bag of Mutsu apples from a street-side vendor. He seemed to notice how much I liked the apple though I balked at paying the premium price for it.

IMG_3209-2

If you’re interested in reading more about the Honeycrisp, I came across an interesting Esquire article about this variety of apple.

Is the Honeycrisp your favourite apple?

2 comments

  1. I love apples too.
    My son-in-law specifically likes the Apple Crisp variety.
    I wish they were not so expensive.
    Last year, at one point, they were $2.99 a pound.

    1. There does seem to be quite a range in price when it comes to apples!

Leave a Reply

