An Apple a Day: Empire

I will confess that I originally confused my apples in my post about the Red Delicious.  Oops!  That is because the Empire apple actually looks very similar to the Red Delicious.  The Empire is, however, rounder and less conical than the Red Delicious.  On our apple picking day, we lost sight of my mom at one point.  It turned out that she had been busily picking some Empire apples, mistakenly thinking that they were Red Delicious apples.  So at least I’m not the only one who makes that mistake!  As my husband and I work out way through our huge supply of apples, I’m finding that I really enjoy the Empire apple and will definitely keep in in mind for next year’s apple picking outing!

IMG_3216

Have you ever tried the Empire apple?  Is it one of your favourites?

Leave a Reply

