An EPIC Dinner and Theatre Night

My husband and I have a subscription to the Mirvish Theatre shows. As big theatre lovers (especially musicals), it works out nicely for us to have a subscription like this. It’s more convenient than having to purchase individual tickets to each show even if it means we may miss out on promotions or deals that pop up once in awhile for individual shows. The most recent show we saw (on Halloween night) was Les Misérables (one of my all-time favourites). For us, going to see a show on a weeknight also means going out for dinner. While we sometimes end up having a quicky meal if my hubby is unable to leave work earlier, most of the time we try to have dinner at a nice restaurant before a show. We decided to try out EPIC Restaurant at the Fairmont Royal York before seeing Les Mis as I had purchased a Groupon for it a short while ago.

The Groupon deal was for a 4-course meal for two people and the great part was that we could choose anything from the menu – a soup or salad, an appetizer, an entrée, and a dessert. I find that Groupon restaurant deals of this kind often restrict you to a fixed menu. What really intrigued me about this restaurant was that they use locally sourced ingredients (featuring those from Ontario growers), including honey from their 14th floor rooftop hives and seasonal herbs from their rooftop garden. That sounded pretty amazing to me!

So how did we enjoy the experience? We found the servers to be friendly and helpful, something that doesn’t always happen when a Groupon is presented at a restaurant. They were very accommodating after we told them we had to show tickets and therefore only had limited time to dine. Most importantly, overall, we really enjoyed the food. Everything was, in my opinion, presented beautifully and was delicious. The only dish we were a little lukewarm about was the panna cotta my husband ordered for dessert.

My virgin cocktail was something like a mojito.

My virgin cocktail was something like a mojito.

My husband's cocktail

My husband’s cocktail

We were presented with this assortment of delicious bread at the beginning of the meal. It came with a yummy butternut squash spread.

We were presented with this assortment of delicious bread at the beginning of the meal. It came with a yummy butternut squash spread.

Before our soup/salad course, we were presented with this amuse bouche. I forgot to ask what was in it but it was tasty start to the meal.

Before our soup/salad course, we were presented with this amuse bouche. I forgot to ask what was in it but it was good.

I noticed this card at our table.

I noticed this card at our table providing info about the rooftop herb garden and hives.

As a soup lover, I ordered the Royal York Seafood Chowder which consists of maritime salmon, scallops and shrimp, and fine herbs.

As a soup lover, I ordered the Royal York Seafood Chowder (maritime salmon, scallops and shrimp, and fine herbs).

My hubby ordered the Heirloom Tomatoes & Niagara Prosciutto (Ontario burrata, marinated olives, basil cress).

My hubby ordered the Heirloom Tomatoes & Niagara Prosciutto (Ontario burrata, marinated olives, basil cress).

For my appetizer, I chose the seared scallops with shaved asparagus. Yum!

For my appetizer, I chose the seared scallops with shaved asparagus. Yum!

My hubby chose the EPIC Shrimp Cocktail (champagne mango, Marie Rose cucumber-green apple smith slaw) for his appetizer.

My hubby chose the EPIC Shrimp Cocktail (champagne mango, Marie Rose cucumber-green apple smith slaw) for his appetizer.

A closer look at the EPIC Shrimp Cocktail

A closer look at the EPIC Shrimp Cocktail

I ordered these tasty lamb chops for my entrée. They were among the best lamb chops I've ever had.

I ordered these tasty lamb chops for my entrée. They were among the best lamb chops I’ve ever had.

My husband's entrée was the excellent Pan Seared Black Cod (rooftop herb creamed polenta, Ontario plum vinaigrette, Swiss chard and baby turnip, yuca chip).

My husband’s entrée was the excellent Pan Seared Black Cod (rooftop herb creamed polenta, Ontario plum vinaigrette, Swiss chard and baby turnip, yuca chip).

We were in a hurry by dessert time so I ordered the gelato - dark chocolate, lychee, fig (though it tasted like cinnamon).

We were in a hurry by dessert time so I ordered the gelato – dark chocolate, lychee, fig (though it tasted like cinnamon).

My husband's Crème Fraiche Panna Cotta (strawberry & rhubard consommé, Niagara late harvest riesling gelée) dessert was our least favourite dish of the evening. It was okay but we weren't blown away.

My husband’s Crème Fraiche Panna Cotta (strawberry & rhubard consommé, Niagara late harvest riesling gelée) dessert was our least favourite dish of the evening. It was okay but we weren’t blown away.

This scrumptious dinner was a great way to begin our evening out and was followed by an absolutely amazing show. I highly recommend going to see this production of Les Mis if you enjoy musicals or are a Les Mis fan. Ramin Karimloo was a terrific Jean Valjean and the rest of the cast was also awesome! This was my third time seeing Les Mis but I am moved to tears every single time I see it.

Definitely no complaints about this night out! Great food and great show!

Leave a Reply

