Delicious Food Show

I am definitely behind on my blogging. As a teacher, when it comes to workload, I’m used to the ups and downs of a typical school year. As report cards approach, a teacher’s life inevitably gets busy. We’re busy with marking and the writing of the report cards – not my favourite part of the job for sure but something that I understood going into this profession was a necessary! This school year has been especially busy and crazy for some reason. I think some years are just like that. So… I haven’t felt like I’ve had much spare time lately.

However, I have learned over time that it is important to always make time for yourself. That includes making time to do the things that make you happy (including blogging). For me that definitely also includes spending quality time with my husband, family (my parents and brother), and with my friends. One of the things that made me very happy at the end of October this year was to attend the Delicious Food Show with my husband. I managed to find a deal online so we were able to purchase two tickets for the price of one. Yay!

Fruit Carvings

I had attended this show once in the past with three of my friends and had really enjoyed it. The first time I went to the show, a definite highlight for me was meeting the charismatic and personable David Rocco. After viewing his cooking demonstration at the show, I was persuaded to purchase his cookbook (Made in Italy) and lined up to meet him, get his autograph in the book, and take a photo with him. Considering I had never even watched any of his cooking shows before, it’s funny how quickly I turned all fan girl that day.

I love shows that celebrate food, cooking, and entertaining since those are all things that I also love. This is what the Delicious Food Show is all about I love to eat. I love to cook and experiment with recipes. I also love playing host and having friends or family over for dinner or other gatherings at our house. It makes me happy to be surrounded by the people I love most and to do my best to make sure they are happy and are enjoying themselves. One of my dreams is to have a huge kitchen with a large island in an open concept space so that I can still talk to our guests while I putter around the kitchen.

In the end, my husband and I had a great time at the Delicious Food Show this year. Though we didn’t see her as we attended the show on a different day than she did, Martha Stewart was apparently the special guest at the show this year. We did manage, however, to sample many delicious things (though I was sad about two items in particular that I managed to miss) and see some interesting cookware.

I’ve noticed RISE Kombucha at a few different food or health related shows. While at the Delicious Food Show, we tasted a variety of yummy RISE Kombucha flavours (a fermented tea beverage with many health benefits). According to the RISE Kombucha website, “RISE is raw, organic, vegan, fair trade and made with love in Quebec.”

Kombucha

My favourite part of shows like the Delicious Food Show is sampling the food. My husband and I purchased some sample tickets in the View the Vibe area and proceeded to sample away!

We had a savoury smoked duck ramen from Barque Smokehouse.

Smoked Duck Ramen from Barque

We also enjoyed a yummy pan seared alheira from Habits Gastropub.

Pan seared alheira from Habits Gastropub

We tasted some jambalaya from Rally Sports Bar and Smokehouse.

Jambalaya from Rally Sports Bar and Smokehouse

We also enjoyed a mushroom slider from Darwin Bistro and Bar.

Mushroom Slider from Darwin Bistro Bar

We actually tried two things from Darwin Bistro and Bar.  The other item was a shrimp risotto.

Shrimp Risotto from Darwin Bistro & Bar

We also really enjoyed a lobster guacamole with corn tortilla chips from Canyon Creek.

Lobster Guacamole from Canyon Creek

So what did I miss out on that made me very sad? I missed out on delicious sounding octopus tacos from Buster’s Sea Cove food truck. I was told that I could find out where the truck would be each day via Twitter. This was the final push I needed to start tweeting!

Buster's Sea Cove food truck

I also sadly missed out on a spectacular looking giant pan of paella (should have acted when I first saw it instead of waiting until later) from Patria.

Paella from Patria

I’ll end this post with a picture of one of the most interesting contraptions I saw at the show. I love the show Breaking Bad and this siphon coffee maker reminded me very much of poor Gale Boetticher’s crazy lab coffee maker. As a science nerd, I love the look of this thing!

Siphon coffee maker

I’m already looking forward to next year’s show! Yum!

Leave a Reply

