Moroccan-Inspired Pressure Cooker Beef Ribs with Acorn Squash

While doing my usual weekly (sometimes bi-weekly) grocery shop last week, I noticed that beef ribs were on sale.  Since my husband and I both enjoy eating beef, I plopped some into my shopping cart and then proceeded to also load on a variety of produce and other items.  At this point I only had some vague idea that I could perhaps make some kind of stew-type meal with them.

The next evening, I looked around the kitchen and noticed that I still had a couple of cans of chickpeas and tomatoes.  I also know that I had cumin and ground coriander in my pantry – spices that I remember using in Moroccan-inspired dishes.  I also had a acorn squash that had been sitting in my fruit bowl for a month and a half.  I was thus inspired to create some kind of Moroccan tagine-style beef rib stew that would allow me to use these ingredients among others.  While I do own a nice red Emile Henry tagine, it was getting a bit late so I decided to speed things up by using my pressure cooker instead.  This would also work fine with any other pot but would probably need double the cooking time.  I then mixed and matched ideas from this Williams-Sonoma recipe, this Epicurious recipe, and some ideas of my own.

I really enjoyed the results and I ended up making such a huge pot of the stew that we had plenty of leftovers for lunch and a couple more meals!

Ingredients:

  • Approximately 3 lb. of beef short ribs
  • 1-2 tbsp of paprika
  • 1 tbsp cumin
  • 2 tsp ground coriander
  • 1 tsp freshly ground sea salt
  • 1 tsp freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 peeled and cubed acorn or butternut squash (approx. 1 cup)
  • 4 cloves of garlic
  • 3 small yellow onions
  • 1 can of diced tomatoes (no salt added)
  • 1 can chickpeas
  • 3 carrots
  • parsley (for garnish)
  • 1/2 cup of red wine
  • 1/2 to 1 cup of chicken or beef broth (I used a bit of both since I had some leftover beef broth in the fridge.)
  • 1 cup of dried apricots

Here’s what I did:

Step 1

Step 2

Step3

Step5

Step6

Step7

Step8

Step9

Step10

Step11

Step12

Step13

One comment

  1. […] know I’ve shared another pressure cooker beef short ribs recipe before but I don’t think it hurts to share another tasty one! I’ve tried this recipe […]

Leave a Reply

