Reflections and Happy 2014!

A post to wish everyone a wonderful new year and to reflect on the recent Toronto ice storm! I feel so fortunate to be able to look back at 2013 as an amazing year overall. It’s hard to believe that I’ve been married for a year and four months now. It has been a crazy year of many positive changes. I am so grateful for my loving husband and caring family and friends. They mean so much to me!

Like a quarter of a million others, I was recently affected by the ice storm in Toronto. This ice storm produced incredible beauty – turning the city into a crystalline winter wonderland – but was also incredibly destructive.

image

poutineandparkas.wordpress.com

Numerous trees and large tree limbs gave way and collapsed under the extreme weight of the ice decorating their branches. Many of these branches landed on crucial power lines, crippling many in the city. It was upsetting to see so many beautiful trees lying broken on the ground. My car, which sat on the driveway for a couple of days, ended up encased in an incredibly thick layer of ice. My husband had to spend a good hour or so chipping away at the ice before we could open the door and actually drive it.

image

poutineandparkas.wordpress.com

image

poutineandparkas.wordpress.com

We personally had no power for three days. For some, it was longer. Our Christmas miracle this year was getting our power back in time for Christmas Day. After attending a Christmas Eve church service, we swung by our house to find that out power had been restored. It meant that my husband and I were able to host Christmas morning breakfast and Christmas dinner for our families as planned. We were also fortunate enough to have been able to host two other holiday parties before the power outage occurred. Our power actually went out at night on the same day as our second party.

image

poutineandparkas.wordpress.com

This experience really made me reflect upon and be especially grateful for the support of my parents. We were lucky enough to have been able to stay with them during the power outage. I can’t imagine how awful it was for people who had nowhere else to go during this time. It also gave my husband and me the opportunity to spend extra time with my parents who went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and had delicious food to eat.

poutineandparkas.wordpress.com

poutineandparkas.wordpress.com

I hope you can all look back at the 2013 and reflect on the beautiful things in life and also look forward to a wonderful 2014! Love and happiness to you all! ❤️

poutineandparkas.wordpress.com

poutineandparkas.wordpress.com

 

Leave a Reply

