One of a Kind Christmas Show 2013

I love attending the One of a Kind Christmas Show and Sale in Toronto. It has become something of a tradition to attend with a couple of my friends in particular. This show has been around since 1975 and is the largest consumer craft show in North America. It is a huge show and features local and handmade art, crafts, designs, and more. I am always amazed and in awe of the creativity and talent of so many of the artisans at this show. As someone who enjoys crafts and and anything artistic, I find it is a great show for getting ideas for my own DIY projects. Of course, I never leave empty-handed either. It’s a great place to find unique Christmas gifts for others (or to find a little something for yourself).

For anyone interested in attending next year’s Christmas show, my advice is to be prepared to spend at least 4 hours there if you are the type of person who likes to see everything at a show. If you’re short on time the first day you go, upon exit you can always pick up a re-entry pass that allows you to re-enter for free on another day of the show.

Fuel

I needed some fuel before hitting up the show!

Below, in no particular order, are some pics of my favourite artisans and designs from the show! If you click on the photos, it will take you to the websites of these artisans.

IMG_6854-feature

Blackbird Pottery – I’ve always loved images of trees and nature such as those found on this lovely pottery.

IMG_6853

Blackbird Pottery – I also love a nice feather motif or print!

IMG_6812

Évelyne Rivest Savignac – These ceramic cups and mugs caught my eye! They are beautiful! I love the colours and floral designs.

IMG_6815

Filipa Pimentel – More pretty ceramics! The ones on the left reminded a friend of mine of mountains.

Filipa Pimental (http://www.filipaceramics.com/) - I loved the ocean life feel to these pieces!

Filipa Pimentel – I loved the shape and ocean life feel to these pieces!

I love maps, probably because of my love of travel, therefore I also loved James Kennedy's steel artwork.

James Kennedy – I love maps, probably because of my love of travel, therefore I also loved James Kennedy’s steel artwork.

I have always been attracted to cute and beautiful prints and paper. This explains why I loved Flakes Paperie so much. I especially loved their cute Canadian-themed printed cards.

Flakes Paperie – I have always been attracted to cute and beautiful prints and paper. This explains why I loved Flakes Paperie so much. Among my favourite items were their cute screen-painted by hand Canadian-themed printed cards.

IMG_6822

Flakes Paperie – The cutest calendars!

IMG_6825

Hanna and Nik – I was very attracted by the design of this booth. I loved the European feel and mostly neutral palette of their baby and childrens’ clothing.

IMG_6828

Engine No. 9 – I was drawn to Engine No. 9’s ties which are vintage ties with silk-screened designs printed onto them. My husband wears a suit and tie to work each day so I couldn’t resist buying him one of the bird print ties.

Another shot of some of Engine No. 9's ties.

Engine No. 9 – Another shot of some of the ties.

I saw some of the most adorable pins, cards, buttons, etc. at Mehoi!

Mehoi – I saw some of the most adorable pins, cards, buttons, etc. here!

My favourite item at Mehoi? These cute Canada-themed greeting cards!

Mehoi – My favourite item here? These cute Canada-themed greeting cards!

I was very intrigued and impressed by Matter. I tried one of their hand creams while I was there and was impressed by its moisturizing power.

Matter Company – I was very intrigued by Matter. They make a variety of skin care products – all with natural ingredients, including pure essential oils, and use recyclable plastic and metal packaging. I tried one of their hand creams while I was there and was impressed by its moisturizing power.

Some of the products at Matter.

Matter Company – Some of the products at Matter.

I thought it was nice that Matter also had a whole line of products for mom and baby.

Matter Company – I thought it was nice that they also had a whole line of products for mom and baby.

IMG_6857

Organic Gold Mustard – I love food so it makes sense that one of my favourite parts of the One of a Kind Show is tasting all of the delicious foods available there! I went home with a couple jars of this oh-so-tasty organic mustard from Organic Gold Mustard (an all Canadian company). It was not easy to narrow it down to two flavours!

IMG_6863

Nicole Tarasick – I am a sucker for pillows, even though my husband can’t stand them. I am constantly putting them back on the couch after he has thrown them off to the side somewhere. My favourite pillows from Nicole Tarasick were the ones printed with the Great Lakes and the ones printed with Canada on them. I also love the ones with the airport codes on them. I think they would be a great gift for a couple if each half of the couple is from a different city.

IMG_6865

Tres Normale – I have purchased t-shirts from Tres Normale multiple times during different years at the One of a Kind Show as gifts for my brother and my husband. I just love the urban Toronto and Montreal scenes depicted on these shirts. There’s just something special about looking at one of the prints and recognizing your home town in it.

Creations Li sells some of the cutest pottery I have ever seen!

Creations Li – Some of the cutest pottery I have ever seen!

I loved these too cute little tumblers from Creations Li.

Creations Li – I loved these too cute little tumblers!

Hearts and bicycles on a tumbler? I love it!

Creation Li – Hearts and bicycles on a tumbler? I love it!

IMG_6872

Whiteout Workshop – I loved many of the silk-screened prints and apparel I saw here. I love almost anything with a tree printed on it!

IMG_6871

Whiteout Workshop – I can’t even tell you which print was my favourite! I loved so many of these! Those trees with a heart between them? Love! Cameras? Birds on a wire? Birds escaping from a cage? Bicycles? Love them all!

Last, but definitely not least, I am always amazed by Judy Black. I own three pieces from her collections and love all of them. Unique and funky prints, many in wild neon colours!

Judy Black – I own three pieces from her collections and love all of them. Unique and funky prints, many in wild neon colours!

These are my favourite style of shirt from Judy Black. I actually own two of them, including one of the amazing, literally one of a kind, tops in this picture. Mine is on the bottom left. I also own the white on white forest printed top.

Judy Black – These are my favourite style of shirt from Judy Black. I actually own two of them, including one of the amazing, literally one of a kind, tops in this picture. Mine is on the bottom left. I also own one of the white on white tree/forest printed tops.

The Judy Black booth

Judy Black

There are actually always two One of a Kind shows each year – one around Christmas time and the other in the spring. I believe that the Christmas one tends to be the bigger show and is the one I generally attend each year.

And that’s it! I can’t wait for the next show!

*Disclosure – I am not affiliated with any of the artisans featured here aside from being good friends with the sister of the talented artisan behind Judy Black. Anything that I own from any of these One of a Kind Show artisans, I purchased myself.

Leave a Reply

