Turkey and Roasted Vegetable Fried Rice

Given that I am now in the thick of a report card period, it’s a busy time!  I always have so many ideas for blog posts running through my head and never seem to have enough time to actually blog.  Anyway, this will be a short post today.  I am so backlogged that this post is about how to use up turkey and roasted vegetables leftovers from a big holiday turkey dinner!

My husband and I had quite a rollercoaster of a holiday this past Winter Break.  We ambitiously planned and hosted two large holiday parties/get-togethers – one for extended family and one for friends.  We had over twenty people at each of these parties.  We also hosted a Christmas day breakfast and dinner for our immediate family (a total of ten people).  I absolutely love hosting parties at our house!  It brings me so much joy to have the people I care about eat well and spend time together.

Since I had very little experience planning a party for this many people (other than my wedding), one of my biggest challenges was figuring out how much food we would need.  To save ourselves some work, we prepared and cooked our own main dishes but catered our side dishes.  In the end, we had a ridiculous amount of leftover food – not ideal since we experienced a 72-hour power outage (caused by the huge and destructive ice storm that hit Toronto in December) immediately after our second party.

After eating leftover turkey and a variety of side dishes for three days straight, I knew it was time to change it up somehow.  I decided to attempt a turkey and roasted vegetable fried rice.  In the end, it was my always helpful and amazing mom who cooked this delicious dish.  Believe me when I say that my mom makes a very tasty fried rice!

Ingredients:

  • leftover turkey
  • assorted leftover roasted vegetables (I had carrots, parsnips, brussel sprouts, and French beans.)
  • 2 cloves minced garlic
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 3 cups of steamed rice (We used my favourite sprouted rice and quinoa blend from the TruRoots brand.)
  • 1 tbsp cooking oil of your choice (We used extra virgin olive oil since that’s what I had at home.)

IMG_7368

IMG_7365

IMG_7366

IMG_7369

IMG_7370

IMG_7374

IMG_7376-2

Leave a Reply

